UP professors take top honours at 2019 Health Excellence Awards

Posted on November 25, 2019

Thought leaders at the University of Pretoria’s (UP) Faculty of Health Sciences were honoured at the 2019 Health Excellence Awards as two of the Faculty’s professors won first place and another secured a second runner-up spot.

Professor Michael Pepper, Director at the Institute for Cellular and Molecular Medicine (ICMM), which is based at the Faculty of Health Sciences, took top honours in his category, winning the Scientific Excellence Award, while Head of Otorhinolaryngology Professor Mashudu Tshifularo, world famous for pioneering the innovative 3D ear transplant, won the Global Excellence Award.  Head of Family Medicine Professor Johannes Hugo was second runner-up for the Leadership Excellence Award.


Professor Mashudu Tshifularo.

The Clinix Health Group, in partnership with the South African Clinician Scientists Society, hosted the second South African Health Excellence Awards on 23 November 2019 at Emperors Palace in Kempton Park. This event celebrates excellence in healthcare by identifying leaders in medicine who have contributed to research, teaching and the advancement of medicine in South Africa.

Prof Pepper acknowledged his loved ones, students and mentors for providing guidance and encouragement. He added, “The ICMM is home to people who have a passion for discovery and a thirst for new knowledge, and the award reflects their commitment and dedication. The University has been my professional home for the past 15 years, and has provided me with the opportunity to grow and explore new avenues. Without opportunity there is no progress, and I am grateful to the University and Faculty Executive for unlocking opportunities which have allowed the members of the ICMM to be creative and productive.”


Professor Johannes Hugo.

“I am very proud of our colleagues and we will continue to celebrate the work they do to impact the health of all South Africans,” said Professor Robin Green, Chairperson of the School of Medicine at the Faculty of Health Sciences.

- Author Mmane Boikanyo

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences