Faculty of Health Sciences

By choosing to study Health Sciences at UP, you will receive quality education and excellence, while also undertaking relevant research that aims to make a difference in the medical field, both locally and globally. You will have access to some of the best infrastructure, libraries, laboratories, online study resources, lecturers and work opportunities in South Africa.

Students are trained by 600 academic staff members located in four schools, namely Dentistry, Healthcare Sciences, Health Systems and Public Health and Medicine. Training is in partnership with the Gauteng Health Department in Steve Biko, Kalafong and Weskoppies Hospitals and Mpumalanga’s Witbank Hospital and its community.

Prospective students who wish to pursue a career in health sciences are encouraged to take a look at the available academic programmes or send e-mail for questions or queries to [email protected]

The livestream from Choose UP Day is available for those interested in our undergraduate programmes:



MBChB Selection criteria 2020 for 2021

For more information on the selection criteria for MBChB click here.


Faculty Specific Policies 

Staff and students can access faculty-specific policies by clicking on the button below. 




University of Pretoria

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences