New UP SRC members inaugurated

Posted on October 16, 2019

Congratulations are in order for the newly inaugurated University of Pretoria (UP) Student Representative Council (SRC) members who were elected in September.

The SRC members were inaugurated on Tuesday at the Hatfield Campus’s Senate Hall in the presence of UP Vice-Chancellor and Principal Professor Tawana Kupe; Vice-Principal: Residence Affairs and Accommodation Professor Themba Mosia; and the outgoing SRC.

Prof Mosia said the Council was a training platform for leaders.

“We take the SRC seriously as a university; student leaders in their different structures and formations form an important part of the strategy of the University. Our vision is to develop our students so that when they leave this university they are transformed individuals who can be of service to society,” he said.

The newly inaugurated University of Pretoria Student Representative Council 

SRC President David Kabwa made UP history when he was re-elected for a second term as an independent candidate. Last year he became the first second-year student elected UP SRC President. He was also elected chairperson of House Humanities in 2018.  

“You cannot be a leader until you realise that what you are doing is a call to serve. I am not above anyone but subservient to those who have placed me in this position. For me, this position means serving the wider population of the University’s students. I have been fortunate to have seen, experienced and witness so many things as the president and I found sincere beauty in building and growing in those experiences,” he said. 

Kabwa says the SRC’s mandate is to ensure that it creates a space for students to be able to succeed and address issues they face, including accommodation, academic and financial exclusion and student hunger. 

Student Representative Council 2019/2020

David Kabwa – President

Mpho Mehlomakulu – Deputy President

Ryan Haines – Secretary

Lerato Ndlovu – Deputy Secretary

Shaheen Deonarain – Treasurer

Gerald Mokwena – Marketing, Media and Communications

Thuli Kola – Study Finance

Thabisile Mtshali – Transformation, and Student Success

Lindani Mgoduka – Postgraduate and International Student Affairs

Lemogang Mochoari – Day Student and External Campus Affairs

Bianca Robinson – Facilities, Safety and Security

Hannah le Roux – Societies  

Lebohang Masiteng – UP RAG  

Nomafu Ngubane – Student Sport

Sibo Chamane – Residences 1

Lara Thom – Residences 2

Nyasha Chinembiri – Student Culture

Lorrainga Mothokwa – Academics1

Namatai Ruswa – Academics 2

- Author Xolani Mathibela

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences