Election of the President of Convocation

Posted on October 15, 2019


The Convocation is a legally constituted body which includes approximately 300 000 alumni of the University as its largest constituency. Members of the University’s executive, deans of faculties, all current permanent academic staff, professors emeriti and other retired academic employees also form part of the Convocation. As a key stakeholder group, the Convocation has a vested interest in the stature and success of the University. The University’s Convocation structures are regulated by the provisions of the UP Statute (2018) and the Institutional Rules of the University.

Vote between 7 October 9:00 and 21 October 16:00.

Click here to vote 


The President of the Convocation

The President of the Convocation plays a pivotal role as Chairperson of the Convocation Advisory Board (ex officio) and as one of the four Convocation members on Council. As such, he/she will collaborate closely with the Vice-Chancellor and Principal and with the Registrar of the University.

This position, which runs for a term of five years, has been vacant since August 2017. The University of Pretoria has commenced the process of electing a President of the Convocation in June 2019. The nomination and voting processes are described below.


Convocation members are invited to nominate suitable candidates with the requisite stature, qualifications and experience from amongst the ranks of the Convocation to fill the vacant position of President of the Convocation for a five-year term.

The first nomination period was from 3 to 18 June 2019. This was followed by a second nomination period between 15 and 29 August 2019. Nominations are now closed. 

Candidates for the President of Convocation

The following candidates have been nominated:

Mr Christiaan Loedolff Fismer

Mr Raaziq Mohamed Ismail

Dr Hans Hinner Köster

Ms Nomlayo Nannette Mtombenhle Mabhena

Mr Didcott Lehlohonolo Makheme

Mr Lungelo Christopher Nomvalo

Dr Peter Thomas Oberem


The electronic voting process will commence on Monday, 7 October 2019 at 09:00 and will end on Monday, 21 October 2019 at 16:00. Please follow the instructions for online voting.

Convocation members who do not have internet access, will be able to vote at a voting booth in the Marketing Services Building on the Hatfield Campus. Please contact the Department of University Relations at 012 420 6848 or email [email protected] to make an appointment.

The results of the election will be independently audited before any announcements are made.


Convocation members who may have queries or do not have internet access, may contact the Department of University Relations at 012 420 6848 or by sending an email to [email protected].



Instructions for online voting

Rules for the Election of the President of Convocation

Short CVs:

CV of Mr Christiaan Loedolff Fismer

CV of Mr Raaziq Mohamed Ismail

CV of Dr Hans Hinner Köster

CV of Ms Nomlayo Nannette Mtombenhle Mabhena

CV of Mr Didcott Lehlohonolo Makheme

CV of Mr Lungelo Christopher Nomvalo

CV of Dr Peter Thomas Oberem

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences