Innovation Camp successfully hosted by EBIT

Posted on August 17, 2016

The first Innovation Camp hosted by the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT) and organised by the Department of Informatics was a huge success. There were 32 groups enrolled for the event: eight for the Codeathon and 24 for a Business Idea. The event was sponsored by Buzznovation and Coca Cola. Buzznovation sponsored R60 000 worth of prizes for the two competitions, while Coca Cola sponsored drinks for the 15-hour night hackathon and for the prize-giving event. The Department of Informatics sponsored the operational costs of the function and the Informatorium provided security for the all-night event.

MIT (Information Systems) students Rendani Kruger and Jacques Brosens were responsible for all the arrangements. Earlier in the year they presented mobile development courses at the University and the interest these generated prompted the idea for the Innovation Camp.

Several very good business ideas came out of the sessions and the winners were selected based on the feasibility of their idea and the time it would take to bring it to market.

The results for the two competitions are as follows:

Position Group Members Prize
Joint first Null Terminators Ulrik de Muelenaere, Solly Lebelo, Andries du Plooy, Brent Walsh, Lethabo Phofa


R4 000 per group member

Joint first Over Under Achievers Lesego Motea, Roy Motloutsi
Third Mean Machine Andrew le Roux, Dewald de Jager R2 000
Business Idea
First Matchers Targo Dove, Joshua Antonizzi R20 000
Second SAGE Ruan Kruger, Francois Venter R8 000
Third Transformation Hub Kiara Chinniah, Yang Wade R2 000

Special prizes were also given to participants in the following categories:

Category Group Members Prize
Codeathon Challenges Over Under Achievers Lesego Motea, Roy Motloutsi Hamper
Presentation Inspired You Trinity Chauke Hamper
Persistence Dynamic Qubits   Hamper
Visual Design Alithium

Nthabiseng Makena, Mark Dlamini

Community-based solution Resolute Pasungili Ramakrishnan, Diego Snayers Hamper



- Author Prof Alta van der Merwe

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences