Tuks FM celebrates 35 years of radio

Posted on February 12, 2016

On Tuesday, 9 February 2016, Tuks FM celebrated its 35th birthday. The crew celebrated the occasion with a cake for their volunteers to thank them for their contributions. With four Campus Station of the Year awards over the last four years, Tuks FM is South Africa’s most awarded radio station.

Since its establishment in 1981, the station has produced many famous voices in the radio industry including Anele Mdoda, Sias du Plessis, Carmen Reddy, Rian van Heerden, Poppy Ntshongwana, Keneilwe Mohapi, Joe Mann, Gareth Cliff, Liezel van der Westhuizen, Kriya Gangiah, Tara Meaney, Simon Dingle, Nadia Romanos and Rob Forbes, to name a few.

Tuks FM’s mission as a community broadcaster is to serve the students of the University of Pretoria by providing high quality, innovative content and activities. Tuks FM aims to continue to train its volunteers to become world-class broadcast professionals, and to evolve into a media institution that reflects its community and global trends.

‘The journey over the last 35 years has seen the station achieve many successes and become a formidable player in the South African radio industry. While we look back with fondness at the station’s formative years and the people who made them possible, we look forward to even more success in the future. Here’s to the next 35 years of innovation and excellence,’ says station manager, Dewald Noel van Niekerk.

For more information on Tuks FM, visit tuksfm.co.za or email Tuks FM at [email protected].


- Author Tuks FM

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences