Marketing students wow Assegai judges

The practical projects of the 3rd year BCom Marketing Management students and the honours students in Direct Marketing were entered into the Awards after Prof. Yolanda Jordaan decided that the work delivered by the 3rd and 4th year students was of such high quality, that it would more than measure up to industry standards.
The Silver and Gold awards for Student Marketing Campaign of the Year were awarded to two groups of students in Direct Marketing. The students did a project for Cell C by proposing a marketing strategy for a real life marketing problem that Cell C has. After proposing the marketing strategy, the students had to develop a marketing campaign. The Gold award went to the Student Marketing Team of the Year for a project that they did for Potatoes SA. They had to develop a marketing and communication campaign. The winning group was the group that did work of a high quality through the year and also the group that had the best outputs as a team.
The Direct Marketing Association received a total of 126 entries from 20 agencies and corporative institutions. Of these entries, 80 made it through to finals and 33 finalists received awards. The Assegai Awards function was held at the Kyalami Theatre on 5 November 2007. Both lecturer and students were honoured with awards and they ensured that the University of Pretoria came out tops. The following awards were received by students of the Department of Marketing and Communication Management: GOLD Assegai Award for Student Marketing Team of the Year, GOLD Assegai Award for Student Marketing Campaign of the year, SILVER Assegai Award for Student Marketing Campaign of the year, SPECIAL AWARD for contribution of Prof Yolanda Jordaan to direct marketing education in South Africa.

Assegai Winners.jpg

Back row, left to right: Marius Mare, Mark Schefermann, John Moloisane,
Eksteen Theron, Prof Yolanda Jordaan (lecturer).
Front row, left to right: Thoulla Chrysochou, Nicole Driver, Nicole Hamman, Lizre Orton

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences