Tuks crowned kings of USSA Football National Club Championships

Posted on January 23, 2013

During the tournament, Tuks beat North-West University 1-0 in their first match, and again in the final with a more convincing score of 31.

The goals that led to Tuks’ victory were scored by defender Lawrence ‘Long’ Ntswane, and by Mbongeni ‘Pato’ Masilela and Matsobane ‘Tsutsu’ Matsi.

Coach Evangelos Vellios became the second Tuks coach to win the coveted trophy, which had previously been awarded to Sammy Troughton in both 2003 and 2004.

University of Pretoria 11 University of Limpopo                                
University of Pretoria 20 University of Cape Town                            
University of Pretoria 20 University of KZN                                        
University of Pretoria 21 Walter Sisulu University                             
University of Pretoria 21 Vaal University of Technology                     
University of Pretoria 12 Tshwane University of  Technology (Final)         
University of Pretoria 10 North-West University, Mafikeng Campus
University of Pretoria 10 University of Cape Town
University of Pretoria 00 Walter Sisulu University, Ibika Campus
University of Pretoria - University of the Western Cape
University of Pretoria 10 University of KZN
University of Pretoria 31 North-West University, Mafikeng Campus (Final)                     
Goal scorers:
Tshililo Ravhuandzo                   
Refilwe Ranyawa                       
Gloria Thato                                
Nompumelelo Nyauza                
Matsobane Matsi
Lawrance Ntswane
Mbongeni Masilela
Pogiso Mahlangu
AmaTuks players:
Pogiso Mahlangu (striker)
Dennis Kaibe (left wing)
Tristyn Coetsee (goalkeeper) 

At the awards dinner the University of Pretoria also scooped up some of the top awards on offer, including:  
Evangelos Vellios (Tuks men): Coach of the Tournament
John Matlala (Tuks men): Team Manager of the Tournament
Gloria Thato (Tuks women): Player of the Tournament

The USSA Champions

 Elvis Shisana - President of SAFA Cape Town and SAFA NEC member, Kenneth Matlala - Tuks Vice Captain, Kabelo Ramongane - Tuks Captain, Dennis Shabalala - Chairperson of USSA Football

Evangelos Vellios (Coach of the tournament)

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences