TuksSport Colours & Awards

Posted on October 26, 2011

  • 96 National representatives of whom 2 represented Namibia, 1 Kenya and 6 Zimbabwe;
  • 13 Coaches and team managers accompanying senior national teams in an official capacity to international competitions;
  • 20 National Federation team members of which 2 represented Zimbabwe;
  • 49 National age group team members, 2 coaches and 1 manager accompanying these teams;
  • 25 Students and 8 coaches/managers represented USSA sports teams;
  • Most of the above as well as a further 232 Tuks athletes obtained senior provincial colours.

Tuks' star athlete - LJ van Zyl broke the 11-year old SA 400m H record on 25 March with a time of 47.66 - a time he achieved twice this year - which, at the end of the athletics season, turned out to be the fastest time in the world for 2011.  Tuks' Miss Netball - Erin Burger was selected the best netball player in the world at the recent World Netball Championships.

At the IAAF World Championships, LJ van Zyl won bronze in the 400m H, Caster Semenya won silver in the 800m and Team SA consisting of 3 Tuks athletes - LJ van Zyl, Oscar Pistorius and Willie de Beer - won a silver medal for the 4 x 400m relay for men.

Twenty-two Tuks athletes and 7 officials represented the USSA team at the World Student Games in China.  One of two gold medals won by Team SA, was in the  4 x 100m relay for men, with two Tukkies - Hannes Dreyer and Willie de Beer prominent.

Amongst the clubs that fared exceptionally well were:

  • TuksNetball produced 5 players - one of which the captain - and the Coach to the National team.
  • TuksHockey once again had their usual complement of players in the respective National teams - 5 men & 4 women.
  • TuksSquash winning the USSA Championships for the 7th year running. 
  • TuksAthletics' women's team winning their section at USSA for the 2nd consecutive year, and at the USSA Cross Country competition winning the 8km team event.
  • TuksRowing (men's VIII) winning the USSA Boat Race for the 3rd year running.
  • TuksHockey (men) winning at USSA.
  • TuksGymnatics winning gold at USSA
  • TuksRugb's women’s team won the "Tornoi International Rugby A7" - an International Sevens tournament In Reunion.
  • TuksRugby produced the University's 86th rugby Springbok in Dean Greyling and Arno Botha captained the SA u20 team.  The club also improved their Varsity Cup ranking from 6 to 2.
  • If TuksSwimming were a country they would have finished 2nd on the All Africa Games Swimming competition medals table - winning 5 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze medals.
  • TuksGolf won the inaugural "Tuks - Saints" (University of St Andrews) Golf Challenge in September - 9.5 - 6.5.

Special induction into the University’s Sports Hall of Fame

Dr Steve "Kalamazoo" Mokone, who graduated from the Pretoria Bantu Normal College in Mamelodi in 1953 – where he was taught by University of Pretoria academic staff – became the first African professional football player in Europe when he signed to play for Coventry Football Club in Coventry, England. Upon his retirement he returned to complete BSc, MA and PhD degrees and represents the best accomplishment of South Africa in sport and academia – both locally and internationally.  He is a role model to other South African athletes to appreciate the opportunities of excellence in sports and education in one’s life.  He manifests the possibilities, diligence, dedication and commitment which rewards all those who seek to realize their full potential.

Tukssport Special Induction of Steve Mokone 2011 family


Student Sports Administrator of the Year : Kennedy Haraseb (SSC)

Administrator’s Award : Sollie Barnard (Chairperson : TuksCricket)

Coach of the Year – Individual sport : Liz MacKenzie (Squash)

Coach of the Year – Team sport : Craig Fulton (Hockey)

Newsmakers of the Year : Oscar Pistorius (Athletics), AB de Villiers (Cricket)

Student Sport Club of the Year : Rowing

Sports Team of the Year : TuksRowing – Men’s VIII                                 

Sport Club of the Year : Athletics

tudent Sportswoman of the Year : Vuyisani Mangisa (Hockey)

Other candidates were: (Emily Gray - Swimming, CheynaTucker -Squash, Lee-Anne Persse – Rowing)

Student Sportsman of the Year : Willie de Beer (Athletics)         

Other candidates were: (Arno Botha - Rugby, David Hunt & Lawrence Brittain – Rowing)

Sportswoman of the Year : Erin Burger (Netball)

Other candidates were (Caster Semenya – Athletics, Karin Prinsloo – Swimming)                  

Sportsman of the Year : LJ van Zyl (Athletics)   

Other candidates were (Oscar Pistorius – Athletics, Rhett Halkett – Hockey)

Contact Person

Henda van Schalkwyk
012 4206074

Liz MacKenzie (Squash)
Coach ind sport 2011
Craig Fulton (Hockey)
Coach teamsports 2011

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences