UP Engineering students win top prizes

Posted on August 23, 2010

The magazine "Chemical Technology" (Crown Publications) organises an annual national competition for undergraduate and postgraduate students. At the prizegiving ceremony on July 14th in Johannesburg students of the Department of Chemical Engineering won 3 of the 5 prizes.

Ria Muller won the CSIR-sponsored "Undergraduate student of the year"-award for 2009 for her project supervised by Prof Philip Crouse.

Vhutshilo Madzivhandila won the Anglo Research " Postgraduate paper of the year"-award for 2009 for his research supervised by Prof Thoko Majozi.

Puxley Mashele received the "Special Environmental Award" for 2009 for his research project supervised by Prof Walter Focke.

The two other prizes awarded, were for the category “Specialisation Award: Energy category” and sponsored by SANERI and was awarded to 2 students of UJ, whuile the “Spcialisation Award: Water category” went to a student of UKZN. 

At the South African Institute of Tribology's recent annual awards ceremony, Kgaugelo Mokhwazo of the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Pretoria received an award for her Undergraduate Final Year Research Project entitled "Effect of Biodiesel Addition on the Lubricity of Petroleum Based Diesel. " under supervision of prof Philip de Vaal.

prize giving   Mr John Fitton, President of the South African Institute of Tribology presented the SAlT Student Award to Kgaugelo Mokhwazo
prize winners  

Front row: Prof Thoko Majozi, Mr Vhutshilo Madzivhandila, Ms Ria Muller. Back row: Prof Philip Crouse, Mr Puxley Mashele, Prof Philip de Vaal 



Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences