UP wins Big at AEASA 50th Anniversary

Posted on November 08, 2011

Agricultural Economics Association of Southern Africa (AEASA) celebrated the 50th anniversary of its existence during the 49th Annual Conference which was held in Pretoria on 28 -30 September 2011. University of Pretoria provided 14 (out of 30) Contributed papers and two Visual (poster) papers out of 16. One of Contributed papers was nominated amongst the best three.

At the Award Ceremony that was held during the Annual Dinner Conference of AEASA UP received several awards. Tinashe Kapuya was awarded the Inaugural BD Nomvete Bursary for PHD program. Marlene Louw received the award for best Masters Thesis and Frikkie Liebenberg was awarded the­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ SJJ de Swardt prize for the best paper published in Agrekon in 2010/2011­­­­­­. Cornelis de Jager received the UP best final year student for 2010.

The association also held the elections of the new office bearers for the next two years. Prof Sheryl Hendriks was elected as the new and first female president of AEASA. Her deputy is Dr Litha Magingxa from the Land Bank. Dr Ferdi Meyer was elected AEASA additional member and Mmatlou Kalaba was later on appointed secretary-treasurer of AEASA.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences