Appointment of three council members on the basis of expertise and experience

Posted on November 27, 2020

The University of Pretoria plays an important role nationally and makes a significant contribution to South Africa’s international standing. The University Council governs the University in terms of the Higher Education Act of 1997 (as amended) and the Statute of the University of Pretoria.

Council has a fiduciary, governance and policy-making duty and is ultimately responsible for determining the University’s strategic direction.

Organisations, interest groups and individuals are hereby invited to nominate three (3) candidates to serve on the Council of the University of Pretoria. The nominees should preferably have tertiary qualifications and high-level expertise and experience in financial/business/investment management, accounting (being a qualified and registered auditor or chartered accountant will be an advantage), and/or human resource management. It will be advantageous for the persons to be familiar with the higher education sector. There are three vacancies to be filled in this category for a four-year term.

Please note that this category forms part of the external group of Council members and therefore section 27(6) and section 27(7)(e) of the Higher Education Act are applicable. As a result, no employee or student of the University or employee of any other university may be considered for appointment.

Nominations should be in writing and should be accompanied by a short curriculum vitae of the nominee. The nominee must indicate his/her acceptance of the nomination in writing and also indicate in writing his/her willingness to serve on Committees of Council in the event that he/she is appointed to Council.                                                                

Nominations must reach the Registrar of the University by no later than 16:00 on 18 December 2020.

Council will appoint three members from the ranks of the nominees or from the ranks of the nominees that have been shortlisted by the Standing Committee of Council. The Council members thus elected will serve on the Council in their personal capacity and not as representatives of any interest group.

Please direct all nominations to Prof CMA Nicholson, Office of the Registrar, Administration Building 4-23, Hatfield Campus, University of Pretoria or by fax to 012 420 5849 or via email to [email protected].

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences