MEET: Maria Masemula, Cleaner at the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences

Posted on June 07, 2019

Tukkievaria: Who is Maria Masemula?
Maria Masemula: I was born in Peterskraal, Mpumalanga, but later moved to KwaMhlanga in Mpumalanga, about 40 kilometres from Peterskraal, with my husband and children. I had a good upbringing and I enjoyed going to school. However, I was prevented by circumstances from passing matric, but I am willing to give it another try next year. I work hard for what I want and I am sure that I will succeed. 
TV: Please tell us about your job here at UP.
MM: I am one of the cleaners for the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences and have been working as a cleaner for the University since 2004. I arrive here very early as we work from 06:00 until 14:00. In my job it is important to arrive early to ensure that the building is tidy before the staff arrive.   
TV: What do you enjoy most about your job, and why?
MM: I enjoy cleaning, so working here as a cleaner does not feel like a difficult chore to me. I also like working in this environment and the people are nice and welcoming. 
TV: What do you like least about your job?
MM: I must say that cleaning the toilets is the part of my job that I like the least, but someone has to do it. 
Maria Masemula is a firm believer that nothing in life comes easily.
TV: If you could make one suggestion for making UP an even better place to work at, what would it be?
MM: UP is well organised and I enjoy working here, but as someone who has to take care of a family, I think a salary increment will do. Our children are still at school and need a lot from us as their parents. Otherwise, everything is all right, including the working hours. I am fine with that.
TV: If you were not a cleaner, what would you have liked to be?
MM: Wow! I would have loved to be a primary school teacher and to be able to give the little ones a proper foundation in life. I love kids wholeheartedly and teaching is very close to my heart.  
TV: Who is Maria away from work? 
MM: I am a very laid-back person. I enjoy cleaning my house and going to church with my husband and children. I enjoy spending most of my time with my family.  
TV: What are your goals for next five years?
MM: As I mentioned before, I did not pass matric, so next year I would like to enrol for a correspondence course with a college and complete matric because my ultimate goal is to become a primary school teacher. I will not allow that dream to die. I will make sure that it materialises. 
TV: Is there a special piece of advice that you received in your life that you would like to share with our readers? 
MM: My mom once told me that nothing comes easily in life; we have to work hard for what we want. I always make sure that I work hard every day. 
- Author Xolani Mathibela

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences