UP’s top sport stars honoured at 2018 TuksSport Awards

Posted on October 29, 2018

University of Pretoria swimmer Tatjana Schoenmaker was named Sportswoman of the Year, and sprinter Akani Simbine Sportsman of the Year, at the annual TuksSport Awards held in Pretoria recently.

Schoenmaker made South African history when she won the 100m and 200m breaststroke events at this year’s Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia. Her winning times in both events are African records; she also set an African record in the 50m breaststroke. Schoenmaker is the first South African female swimmer in eight years to win gold at the Commonwealth Games. Natalie du Toit last claimed three gold medals in 2010 at the games in Delhi, India.

Schoenmaker’s coach, Rocco Meiring, justly deserved the award for top coach in an individual sport.

Sportswoman of the Year Tatjana Schoenmaker and Prof de la Rey

Akani Simbine confirmed his status as one of the world’s best sprinters by becoming the first South African sprinter to win gold in the 100m at the Gold Coast games. Also the African sprint champion, Simbine’s best time of 9.93 seconds this season places him in 10th position on the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) rankings.

Acting Director of TuksSport Toby Sutcliffe believes that the success of TuksSport in 2018 can be attributed to the hard work of the stakeholders, who all contribute towards performance management in sport. He also praised Professor Cheryl de la Rey, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of UP, for her contribution to making TuksSport the most successful university in the country’s sporting arena.

Acting Director of TuksSport Toby Sutcliffe 

“In her nine-year tenure, she has inspired TuksSport athletes to focus on both sports and education. Professor Cheryl de la Rey has helped us to create a legacy that will outlive this generation through steadfast leadership and a heroic aura.”

2018 TuksSport Awards

Student Sports Administrator of the Year: Charles Stevens (rowing)
Administrator of the Year Award: Tawnay Gierke (volleyball)
Student Sportswoman of the Year: Michaela Whitebooi (judo)
Student Sportsmen of the Year: Charles Brittain and James Mitchell (rowing)
Coach of the Year – Team Sport: Mpumi Geza (rowing)
Coach of the Year – Individual Sport: Rocco Meiring (swimming)
Sports Team of the Year – Cricket
Sports Club of the Year – Netball
Principal Award for Exceptional Performance: Michaela Whitebooi

TuksSport’s successful year by numbers:

Commonwealth representatives: 31
National representatives: 75
National coaches and managers: 8
National federation representatives: 21
National age group representatives: 26
USSA national representatives: 55
Senior provincial representatives: 153
CUCSA games representatives: 7


- Author Primarashni Gower

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences