UP students in Gauteng Youth Parliament sitting

Posted on June 14, 2018

University of Pretoria students have won 10 out of 20 seats in the Tshwane region to participate in this year’s Gauteng Youth Parliament sitting, which meets on 15 June from 10:00 to 14:00 to discuss issues affecting South Africa’s youth.

The event will be televised on DSTV Channel 408 and the House will vote on resolutions drafted by commissions comprising young people. It will be attended by Gauteng Premier David Makhura; Head of the Independent Electoral Commission in Gauteng, Masego Sheburi; and Speaker of the City of Johannesburg, Councillor Vasco da Gama.

According to UP Humanities student, David Kabwa, who organised a group of 30 students from UP to attend regional workshops, ‘the South African Youth Sector Parliament is an initiative that is conducted on a yearly basis through the Gauteng Legislature to uphold the motto of the Legislature which is “your view, our vision”. Each sector of society is offered the opportunity to engage directly with high level government officials through the sector parliaments.’

Young people from all regions of Gauteng are invited to a series of workshops. They range from being employed, unemployed or students. ‘At these workshops, the youth are divided into groups to address pertinent issues facing young people and are encouraged to analyse them from the perspective of their own realities.  These groups are known as commissions.’

At today’s event, each commission will present their findings, based on research, to Premier Makhura for consideration for policy implementation.

Kabwa said the fact that UP students won 10 of the 20 seats ‘is truly remarkable and shows the great calibre of students that the University has to offer. Students from this group won impressive posts in the Youth Parliament. The group boasts two Chairpersons, the Sergeant of Arms while five students were elected onto the Speaking List.’

The following students have been elected as members of the Youth Parliament:

  • Oarabile Mashego (second year BA Law) - Chairperson of Commission Three (Topic researched: Data charges and its effect on the youth)
  • David Kabwa (second year Political Sciences) - Chairperson of Commission Two (Topic researched: Minimum wage)
  • Tumelo Mashego (first year Political Sciences) - Sergeant of Arms
  • Stephanie Cookson (second year BA General) - Elected onto the Speaking List
  • Henry-Dillion Peens (second year Politics Philosophy and Economics) - Elected onto the Speaking List
  • Thulaganyo Kola (second year Political Sciences) - Elected onto the Speaking List
  • Arvash Sewpaul (first year Political Sciences) - Elected onto the Speaking List
  • Rally Samo (third year Political Sciences) -  Elected onto the Speaking List
  • Omphi-Omphile Motsamai (third year BA Law) - Member of Parliament
  • Pfunzo  Sigweda (third year BA Law) - Member of Parliament
- Author Primarashni Gower

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences