GIBS selected as United Nations PRME Champion for 2018-2019 Cycle

Posted on February 05, 2018

The University of Pretoria’s Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS) has been selected as one of 38 global business schools to take part in the 2018-2019 Champions cycle presented by the United Nations Global Compact and Principles for Responsible Management Education (PRME). The PRME officially announced the 2018-2019 Champion schools at the Global 100 Executive Roundtable which took place during Davos 2018.

The aim of the Champions Cycle to equip the next generation of leaders with the necessary knowledge and skills to attain the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. More than 40 academic leaders and corporate executives, including deans from top business schools and chief executives from leading businesses, gathered for the round-table dinner to discuss gaps in today’s business and management education.

To be considered as a PRME Champion business schools need to be committed to contributing to future leadership development through responsible management education as outlined in the United Nations Agenda for Sustainable Development. Champion schools are recognised as thought or action leaders in the responsible management community and receive preferred access for their students to internships and volunteer opportunities with the PRME Secretariat and Global Compact, exclusive access to Global Compact meetings, and are recognised as PRME Ambassadors.

The recognition of GIBS as a business school that leads in responsible management education adds to the school’s growing accolades as Africa’s preeminent business school. GIBS Dean, Professor Nicola Kleyn, who attended the event said, ‘We are delighted to be recognised as a PRME Champion. In a world of growing inequality, we believe that business schools have a vital role to play in fostering business behaviour that drives inclusive growth.’

GIBS recognises that to solve global ills such as poverty, climate change and inequality, businesses need to play a pivotal role. Through responsible management education, the school will continue to develop students to become future leaders who emphasise the sustainable value for business and society alike.

As a PRME Champion, GIBS commits to:

  • Working collaboratively to achieve higher levels of performance in transforming business and management education in five key areas: curricula, research, educational frameworks, sustainability-based partnerships and thought leadership.
  • Serving the broader PRME community through active engagement with existing PRME Chapters, PRME Working Groups, the Global Compact LEAD, and other global opportunities, as well as to support broader and deeper implementation of sustainability principles in the institutional context of the PRME initiative.
  • Contributing to broader UN goals and issues, particularly in helping to realise the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

In addressing attendees, Lise Kingo, CEO and executive director of the UN Global Compact said, ‘We at the UN Global Compact recognise this opportunity and are committed to working together with you in business schools through PRME — on the global level as well as through our 76 local networks around the world — to guide and support you to achieve your sustainability objectives.’

During dinner Jonas Haertle, head of PRME, commented: ‘Business and management schools play a key role in shaping the skills and mind-sets of future leaders, and can be powerful drivers of corporate sustainability.’  He added that ‘[…] in order to achieve the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the 17 Global Goals, today’s higher education institutions must change the way they teach business, and more systematically incorporate values like sustainability, ethics and responsibility into their teaching, research, and campus leadership.’

List of PRME Champions in 2018-2019 Cycle

1.     Asian Institute of Management (Republic of the Philippines)

2.     Audencia Business School (France)

3.     Babson College (United States of America)

4.     Business School Lausanne (Switzerland)

5.     Cass Business School, University of London (United Kingdom)

6.     College of Business and Economics, University of Guelph (Canada)

7.     Copenhagen Business School (Denmark)

8.     Deakin Business School (Australia)

9.     EGADE Business School, Tecnologico de Monterrey (Mexico)

10.  Fundação Dom Cabral‎ (Brazil)

11.  George Mason University School of Business (United States)

12.  Glasgow Caledonian University (United Kingdom)

13.  Gordon Institute of Business Science (South Africa)

14.  Gustavson School of Business, University of Victoria (Canada)

15.  Hanken School of Economics (Finland)

16.  INCAE Business School (Costa Rica)

17.  Institute of Business Studies, RANEPA (Russia)

18.  Institute of Management Technology, Ghaziabad (India)

19.  IPM Business School (Belarus)

20.  ISAE (Brazil)

21.  Kemmy Business School (Ireland)

22.  Kristianstad University (Sweden)

23.  La Trobe Business School (Australia)

24.  Newcastle Business School (United Kingdom)

25.  Nottingham Business School, Nottingham Trent University (United Kingdom)

26.  Nottingham University Business School (United Kingdom)

27.  Seattle Pacific University (United States)

28.  Stockholm School of Economics (Sweden)

29.  T A PAI Management Institute (India)

30.  The Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado Boulder (United States)

31.  The Peter J. Tobin College of Business, St. John's University (United States)

32.  Universidad Externado de Colombia -  School of Management (Colombia)

33.  University of Applied Sciences, HTW Chur (Switzerland)

34.  University of Cape Town Graduate School of Business (South Africa)

35.  University of Dubai (United Arab Emirates)

36.  University of St.Gallen (Switzerland)

37.  University of Winchester Business School (United Kingdom)

38.  ZHAW School of Management and Law (Switzerland)

- Author Department of University Relations

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences