#TuksFootball: UP-Tuks beat TUT 2–0 to claim 2017 Varsity Football title

Posted on September 29, 2017


UP-Tuks were relentless in their pursuit of the Varsity Football title at the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) on Thursday night, resulting in a 2–0 victory over defending champions TUT. The stadium was packed to capacity in anticipation for what was touted as the biggest game of the 2017 season. The supporters expected a high-intensity football match and they received just that.

UP-Tuks created opportunities early in the game and showed consistency in the first quarter. The visitors took the lead in the 23rd minute when Simbongile Njokwe headed a corner kick from the right-hand side by Jeremiah Nkwana, who showed unfailing persistence in the TUT half. UP-Tuks almost scored a second goal when Nkwana played a dangerous cross into the box, but it landed wide. The score was 1–0 to Tuks at half-time.

The second half got off to a heated start with TUT chasing an equaliser, but UP-Tuks continued to show dominance as they created more chances at goal. The game became physical after the 65th minute as both teams conceded fouls, forcing the referee to issue a few bookings. The score remained 1–0, with both sides unable to find the back of the net, until the 78th minute when Odwa Makha fired a shot from another Nkwana corner kick to put the visitors 2–0 up.

The match was called to an early end and UP-Tuks were crowned the 2017 Varsity Football champions.


Click here to watch the UP-Tuks team celebrate their victory.



TUT: 0

Tuks: 2


Goals: Simbongile Njokwe, Odwa Makha




Sikhumbuzo Ncube, Rorisang Rapelang, Tlotlo Mothibedi, Vusi Sibiya, Tumelo Mphela, Lethabo Mashifana, Tebogo Lekaba, Thabang Makgwane, Keabetswe Mokwena, Thabiso Lebitso, Themba Ndlovu (C)

Substitutes: Kgaratlo Phatsoane, Steven Mvenya, Lehlogonolo Letshwene, Mogau Mphahlele, Thabiso Sibisi, Emmanuel Mahlangu, Kagiso Sole


Dylan Hawes, Katlego Mohlatsang, Simbongile Njokwe, Lawrence Ntswane, Pierre Kok, Claudio de Almedia, Jeremiah Nkwana, Siphesihle Sosibo, Sabelo Tsambo, Odwa Makha

Substitutes: Athenkosi Jojo, Chinedu Okolo, Richard Moremi, Ludumo Nkebe, Clinton Mphahlele, Jurgen Booysen, Clement Malemone



- Author Thabani Magubane

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences