UP Welcomes the MasterCard Foundation scholar cohort of 2017

Posted on February 16, 2017


Prof Ana Naidoo, Deputy Director of the Department for Education Innovation at the University of Pretoria (UP), oversees the MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program at the University. She says the partnership between the Foundation and UP provides comprehensive support to students. 'Scholars from across the continent receive funding for travel, visas, accommodation, meals, tuition, books and printing, and medical aid. They are also provided with a starter pack when they arrive. The Program focuses on developing each scholar as a future leader, so they are exposed to developmental courses in leadership and personal growth'.

'The Program began in 2014 with 19 scholars and this year we accepted 59. The total number of scholars at present is 137. Our first two undergraduates completed their studies last year and will graduate in April. Thus far, we have had 33 scholars graduate with either a master's or honours degree,' says Prof Naidoo.

This year's postgraduate group

The MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program was initiated on the premise that all young people, regardless of the circumstances of their birth, should have the opportunity to obtain a quality education and pursue their aspirations. Scholars are developed to become future leaders in their communities. 

Candidates are required to meet the Foundation's criteria of need, merit, leadership potential and a commitment to 'giving back' within their own communities. The selection process is geared towards identifying and enrolling students from disadvantaged backgrounds.

The Program is implemented by a global network of education institutions and non-profit organisations who believe that education is a catalyst for social and economic advancement.

This year's undergraduate group



- Author Shakira Hoosain

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences