Notice: eWaste management

Posted on February 01, 2017


Campus: All campuses

Buildings affected: All buildings


The University of Pretoria's waste management program includes recycling paper, cardboard, polystyrene, commingled (glass, plastics and cans) fluorescent tubes, books, e-waste, printer cartridges and batteries.

Konika Minolta toner bottles are removed off campus by Konika Minolta for recycling. As these machines are on a lease agreement, the University receives no compensation for the recycling.

HP printer cartridges are also recycled. The University has an agreement with a company that collects the cartridges from the Hatfield campus stores to refill and use again. All the satellite campuses' cartridges are also collected and brought back to the Hatfield Campus.

In terms of other e-waste (computers, microwaves, printers) there is a container in front of the IT building on Hatfield Campus where DESCO has an agreement with the university to remove all the e-waste. E-waste from the satellite campuses are also brought to this container for recycling.

There is a wheelie bin at the stores for the recycling of batteries.

Fluorescent tubes are collected at the J Turner workshop from where it is taken to another contractor eWaste Africa for recycling.



Manager: Waste and Environment
Ilze Ueckermann
Tel: 012 420 2046
Cell: 079 527 5775


- Author Ilze Ueckermann

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences