Theology cooperates with Protestant University of Congo

Posted on October 06, 2016


The Faculty of Theology at the University of Pretoria (UP) signed a memorandum of cooperation with the Protestant University of Congo (PUC) on 21 September 2016.

Prof Johan Buitendag, dean of the Faculty of Theology at UP, met with the PUC delegation led by Prof Robert N'kwim Bibi-Bikan, director of Academic and International Services and acting dean of the Faculty of Theology, to renew this agreement, which was first signed in 2014. A good relationship was established between the two institutions after Prof Buitendag had delivered a paper at PUC some time ago. 

In terms of the agreement, the two institutions will establish and encourage mutually beneficial scientific, technological, educational and other relations. The agreement further stipulates the exchange of academic staff for the purposes of research, teaching and presenting courses in specialised fields, and establishing joint research programmes. It also entails student exchange programmes, the exchange of scientific and educational literature and the organising of conferences, seminars and symposia of mutual interest.

The PUC was founded in 1959. Based in Kinshasa, it has a student population of 8 000 and four faculties, namely Business, Law, Medicine and Theology.

A memorandum of understanding will also be signed with the Faculty of Law.



- Author Petronel Fourie

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences