#TuksFootball: Tuks seal first victory of the season

Posted on August 02, 2016

Tuks showed great quality and team ethic as they outperformed the University of Johannesburg (UJ) on their home ground. The side from Pretoria went home with a 3–0 victory, sealing their first victory of the season.

The game started at a frantic pace with the away side looking more lively and likely to score. Tuks were looking dangerous on set pieces, knocking the ball into the danger area, and UJ looked a bit nervous after the first 20 minutes.

As the game progressed, Tuks's confidence grew. Midfielder Lindani Mazibuko was booked for a reckless tackle, with the resulting free-kick hitting the woodwork. Tuks's dominance in the first half did not yield a goal, however, and the game was tied at 0–0 at the end of the first half.

For the second half, UJ replaced Katlego Ntsabeleng with Sbongeleni Gamade in an effort to penetrate Tuks's water-tight defence. But it was Tuks that took the lead as Tiago da Serra made a run from the blind side and finished by calmly kicking the ball into the bottom corner, bringing the score to 1–0 after 50 minutes.

UJ were given a major scare when Tuks appeared to score a second goal but this was ruled off-side. It looked again as though Tuks was set to score as their front man was sent clean through on goal, but a wonderful reflex save by Damaine van der Walt kept UJ in the game.

Captain Ruwell Jagger took a shot from almost 30 yards and hit the crossbar – the closet UJ came to scoring. However, Tuks took firm control of the game with a clinical second goal scored by Mbongeni Masilela, bringing the score to 2–0 after 60 minutes.

Mogau Khiwana piled more misery on the home side when he scored the third and final goal of the match. UJ failed to put themselves on the score sheet and the match ended 3–0 to Tuks.


Man of the Match: Tiago da Serra (Tuks)

Scorers: Tuks: Tiago da Serra, Mogau Khwinana, Mbongeni Masilela

UJ team:

Starting XI: Damaine van der Walt, Ruwell Jagger, Ntokozo Tshabalala, Funnynight Sisimogang, Dane Futuin, Lindani Mazibuko, Samuel Warder, Tebogo Mandyu, Sanele Mthethwa, Pogiso Mabote, Sbongeleni Gamade

Subs: Mpumelelo Sambo, Jared Abrahams, Melusi Mahlaba, Ntsabeleng Katlego, Sthembiso Manana, Given Msimango, Tshepo Tolo


Starting XI: Dylan Patterson, Asande Mbanjwa, Nicholas Killas, Simbongile Njokwe (c), Siphesihle Sosibo, Claudio de Almeida, Tiago da Serra, Clinton Mphahlele, Frank Mpedi, Mogau Khwinana, Wandile Makhanya

Subs: Deodart Kritzinger, Richard Moremi, Ndlovu Thungulethu, Jurgen Booysen, Mbongeni Masilela, Sabelo Tsambo, Odwa Makha


- Author Varsity Sports

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences