Thirty-nine TuksSport athletes and managers/coaches selected for Rio

Posted on July 22, 2016

On 14 July 2016, SASCOC announced the final Team South Africa Olympic squad for the 2016 Olympic Games to be held in Rio de Janeiro in August. The names of the first 24 team members were announced on 25 May 2016, but it was only after the deadlines for qualifying in the various sporting codes that the final team consisting of 137 members was announced.

TuksSport will be represented in Team SA by no fewer than 36 athletes, managers and coaches. TuksAthletics' Kurt Couto will represent Mozambique in the 400 m hurdles, while TuksJudokas Marlon August and Roderick Kunuku will represent Mozambique and Congo respectively. This means that a total of 39 athletes from TuksSport will be representing their respective countries at the Games.

The complete and final list of TuksSport athletes and managers/coaches who will soon be on their way to Rio is as follows:


Men: Cameron van der Burgh, Douglas Erasmus and Jarred Crous

Manager/Coach: Igor Omeltchenko


Women:  Carina Horn and Wenda Nel

Men:  Akani Simbine, Tlotliso Leotlela, Henricho Bruintjies, Clarence Munyai, Lindsay Hanekom, Louis van Zyl, LeRoux  Hamman, Luvo Manyonga, Wayne Snyman and Marc Mundell

Manager/Coach: Irma Reyneke


Men: Brandon Stone


Men's Artistic Gymnastics: Ryan Patterson


Men: Zack Piontek (South Africa), Marlon August (Mozambique) and Roderick Kunuku (Congo)

Manager/Coach:  Nikola Filipov


Women:  Kirsten McCann, Ursula Grobler, Kate Christowitz and Lee‐Ann Persse

Men: James Thompson, Shaun Keeling, Jake Green, Vincent Breet, John Smith, Lawrence Brittain David Hunt and Jonathan Smith

Manager/Coach: Andrew Grant


Manager/Coach: Kate Roberts and Lindsey Parry


- Author TuksSport

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences