TuksVolleyball: Tuks take second place at Varsity Beach Volleyball

Posted on May 06, 2016

It was a close battle in the Varsity Beach Volleyball final when the University of the Western Cape (UWC) took on Tuks, but the hosts' experience showed as they beat Tuks 33–29 to retain the title. This was the second time in the competition that the teams had met, and it was far closer than their previous encounter.

A brilliant rally kicked off the proceedings and UWC drew first blood, with Bejancka Della and Prudence Layters as their starting pair. Margrit Springer and Thumo Neluvhalani were the starting pair for Tuks. The scores changed a number of times in the first half. UWC took the first two-point lead, 6–4, after three minutes. The lead switched hands, but UWC led 16–12 with a minute to play in the first half. Della was brilliant, smashing winners deep in the court, while Layters executed deft drop-shots just over the net.

At half time the score was 18–15.

The second half started with a bang. UWC's star, Della, executed an incredible save and they led 20–15 after two minutes. Tuks were fighting to stay in the game and trailed by just three points, 22–19, with seven minutes to play.

UWC called a time-out at 23-22 with just under six minutes remaining. When the teams were back on the court, Tuks made costly errors and when they left a UWC serve, which landed in, they were 26–23 down with time running out. Jaime-Lee Wentzel came on for Tuks in place of Neluvhalani with four and a half minutes remaining. UWC extended their lead to 29–24 and a point later Tuks called a time-out with just two and a half minutes left and the score at 30–24.

Basetsane Malubane came on for Prudence Layters with two minutes left on the clock. That caused the hosts to lose momentum and Tuks pulled the score back to 30–27. But Della showed class and pulled UWC over the finish line, winning 33–29. The trophy remains in the Western Capefor the fourth year in a row.

Tuks medical student Margrit Springer scooped two individual awards. She won FNB Player of the Tournament and was named the Samsung Super Striker.


- Author Varsity Sports

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences