11th African Games

Posted on September 02, 2015

The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) has named the South African team that will compete at the 11th African Games in Brazzaville, Congo from 4–19 September 2015. The team will be competing in 15 of the 22 sporting codes contested at the games.

The biggest code in terms of numbers will be athletics. Other codes in which Team SA will compete include badminton, boxing, cycling, fencing, gymnastics, judo, karate, swimming, table tennis, volleyball, powerlifting and wrestling.

TuksSport will have no fewer than 47 athletes in eight sporting codes in Team SA.


Women: Carina Horn, Claudia Heunis, Wenda Nel, Annerie Ebersohn, Marilize Higgins, Deone Joubert, Lynique Prinsloo, Matsi Dikotla, Sonia Smuts, June Roelofse, Corli Swart

Men: Akani Simbine, Henricho Bruintjies, Ofentse Mogowane, Tshepo Lefete, Ruan de Vries, LJ van Zyl, Cornel Fredericks, Wouter le Roux, Lindsay Hanekom, Mpho Links, Chris Moleya, Orazio Cremona, Russell Tucker, Philmar van Rensburg, Fredriech Pretorius, Wayne Snyman


Women: Carley Lomax


Umpire: Andre van der Merwe


Men: Sello Maduma


Women: Tylah Lotter


Men: Jacques van Zyl, Zack Piontek


Women: Meghan Booyens


Women: Vanessa Mohr, Rita Naude, Karin Prinsloo, Marlies Ross, Tatjana Schoenmaker

Men: Martin Binedell, Nico Meyer, David de Villiers, Caydon Muller, Douglas Erasmus, Cameron van der Burgh

Official: Igor Omeltchenko


Women: Zumicke Geringer

We wish all of our athletes, officials and umpires all the best. We know that they will represent South Africa, the University of Pretoria and TuksSport with pride.

Please click here for the official press release.


- Author Samantha Viney

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences