Networking opportunity and prize-giving

Posted on August 05, 2015

‘Networking is an essential part of building wealth’ — Armstrong Williams (American journalist)

The Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering (IE) at the University of Pretoria (UP) hosted their 2015 networking and prize-giving event on Monday, 27 July, in the Club Hall at Café@theClub (Burgundy's) on the University's Hatfield Campus. 

Industry partners from Magna BC, Fourier Approach and iPlan attended the event, together with the Department’s staff and students. Dr Marné de Vries, a senior lecturer in the Department, proved to be an eloquent master of ceremonies.

The company representatives were Mr Wessel Richter (CEO) and Mr Johan Fischer (industrial engineer) from MagnaBC; Dr Pieter Conradie (director), Mr Jaco Purchase (director), Mr Kobus Fick (MD) and Mrs Anzelle Kotze (senior industrial engineer) from Fourier Approach; as well as Ms Mornay van der Hoff and Ms Chantelle Verster (industrial engineers) from iPlan.

Students who attended the event gained hands-on knowledge about each of the abovementioned companies' expertise and services. They were also afforded the opportunity to meet with the company representatives and learn about the future of industry.

Magna, Fourier and iPlan sponsored prizes for the top three first-, second- and third-year Industrial Engineering students of 2014. These students were commended for their dedication and commitment to their studies.

The winners were:

Best first-year IE students of 2014

First: Miss Maryn van der Laarse

Second: Miss Maryke Becker

Third: Miss Karien Krüger


Best second-year IE student of 2014

First: Mr Dewet van Schoor

Second: Mr Ruan van Loggerenberg

Third: Mr Leonidas Petrou


Best third-year IE student of 2014

First: Mr Vincent de Andrade

Second: Mr Ruan van Heerden

Third: Mr Bryton Stevens

The Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering wishes to thank all the company representatives, departmental staff and IE students who contributed towards the huge success of this annual event. 

- Author Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences