AmaTuks progress to the last 16 of the Nedbank Cup

Posted on March 02, 2015

The University of Pretoria (UP) football team, AmaTuks, progressed to the last 16 of the Nedbank Cup for the first time in five years after defeating Moroka Swallows 2‒1 at the LC de Villiers Stadium on Wednesday, 25 February 2015.

Tebogo Monyai lived up to his pre-match comments that AmaTuks would beat the Dube Birds – he led his team to victory in the Nedbank Cup in their first match since being promoted from the National First Division.

Thabo Mosadi scored the first goal of the match in the seventh minute when he received the ball from Thabo Mnyamane and slotted it through the legs of Obren Cuckovic. AmaTuks missed chances in the first 30 minutes and Rudi Isaacs punished them with a fine header in the 35th minute.

The Dube Birds controlled the match for the remaining ten minutes and headed into halftime the better of the two teams.

Moroka Swallows continued where they had left off and dominated possession in the early stages of the second half.

Atusaye Nyondo (man of the match) capitalised on a defensive error by Moroka Swallows and chipped the ball over Cuckovic to score his sixth goal of the season. Despite the Dube Birds’ best efforts to try and get a goal, AmaTuks kept them at bay and progressed to the last 16.

AmaTuks fans witnessed the full debut of Davis Nkausu who lasted the whole 90 minutes. Sammy Troughton was happy with the result but felt his team deserved more: ‘We started 
off well and missed a number of chances in the opening stages of the match but we did not finish both halves the way we would have wanted to. We allowed them too much ball possession and we reverted to long balls and desperation …. I am disappointed in that regard but delighted with the victory.’

AmaTuks: Washington Arubi, Davis Nkausu, Siyabonga Shoyisa, Tebogo Monyai, Partson Jaure, Mpho Matsi, Thabo Mnyamane, Thabo Mosadi, Denver Mukamba, Atusaye Nyondo, Geoffrey Massa

Moroka Swallows: Obren Cuckovic, Rudi Isaacs, Luvhengo Mungomeni, Giulio Giuricich, Dikgang Mabalane, Lucky Baloyi, Vladimir Mandic, Mthokozisi Yende, Luyolo Nomandela, Edwin Sitayitayi, Felix Obada.

- Author Nigel Mthimkhulu

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences