Second Winter School, Unit for Creative Writing

During daily interactive workshops the writing of poetry, prose, drama and film scripts will be highlighted.

Joan Hambidge, well-known and award-winning poet, novelist and columnist, will facilitate the focus groups for poets, while the similarly well-known and award-winning Riana Scheepers (short story writer, novelist, columnist and poet) will facilitate the prose focus groups.

Other participating and award-winning writers include Dana Snyman (columnist and playwright), Deon Meyer (internationally acclaimed thriller writer), Rachelle Greeff (short story writer, novelist, columnist and book editor of Rapport), Leon de Kock (poet, translator of Triomf and In stede van die liefde and travel writer), Corlia Fourie (playwright, short story and children’s books writer and fiction editor of Rooi Rose), Anton Krueger (playwright, poet and script writer), David Medalie (short story writer and novelist), and Henning Pieterse (poet, short story writer and translator).

The course fee is R4500-00. This fee includes morning and afternoon tea, coffee and refreshments, daily lunches and two receptions.

There are only 60 places avalaible for the School.

The medium of instruction is Afrikaans and English. Participants may write in their language of choice.

For further information please contact prof. Henning Pieterse, Head: Unit for Creative Writing, UP: [email protected]; (012) 420 4194/0825882529; fax: 0866335045, or Mrs Seittie du Plessis: [email protected]; (012) 420 4862; fax: 0866335040.

Course Co-ordinator: Marina Nell: [email protected]; (012) 420 5010/0837044413; fax: (012) 362 5285.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences