University of Pretoria awards honorary doctorates and Chancellor

Honorary Doctorates will be awarded to:

• Prof Peter Salovey, DEd (honoris causa). Prof Salovey is currently the Provost at Yale University USA, and the Chris Argyris Professor of Psychology;
• Prof Kenneth Eriksson DSc (honoris causa). He is currently Professor and Head of the Department of Geosciences at Virginia Tech in the USA;
• Prof Mark Savickas DEd (honoris causa). Prof Savickas is Professor and Chair in the Behavioural Sciences Department at the Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine and Adjunct Professor of Counsellor Education at Kent State University, USA.;
• Prof James Loader DPhil (honoris causa); He is the Dean of the Theological faculty at the University of Vienna, Austria;
• Prof Theunis Naudé DVSc (honoris causa), was Professor and Head of the Department of Pharmacolgy and Toxicology at the University of Pretoria until his retirement in 1992.

Two Chancellor’s medals will also be awarded at the graduation ceremonies to Fay King Chung, and Hendrik Nicolaas van der Merwe.

• Dr Chung founded the Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE) uniting women education ministers and vice-chancellors throughout Africa to promote education for girls in Africa. Today she is a member of the Envision Zimbabwe Women’s Trust which unites women with different political views to build a united vision of Zimbabwe’s future.
• Hendrik van der Merwe has been responsible for the planning, development and establishment of Eduplex (Education complex) in Pretoria on behalf of the Foundation of Children with a Hearing Loss.

VENUE: Aula, Hatfield Campus, University of Pretoria

• Prof Peter Salovey will be awarded the degree, DEd (honoris causa), on Tuesday 14 April 2009 at 19:00.
• Prof Kenneth Eriksson will be awarded the degree, DSc (honoris causa), on Friday 17 April 2009 at 09:00.
• Prof Mark Lee Savickas will be awarded the degree, DEd (honoris causa), on Monday 20 April 2009 at 14:00.
• Prof James Alfred Loader will be awarded the degree DPhil (honoris causa) on Friday 24 April 2009 at 09:00.
• Prof Theunis Willem Naudé will be awarded the degree DVSc (honoris causa) on Wednesday 29 April 2009 at 19:00.

Chancellor’s medals will be conferred on:

• Fay King Chung on Tuesday 14 April 2009 at 19:00;
• Hendrik Nicolaas van der Merwe on Saturday 18 April 2009 at 09:00.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences