University of Pretoria appoints new chairperson and deputy chairperson of council

Ms Futhi Mtoba has been appointed as the new Chairperson of the Council of the University  of Pretoria. She succeeds Prof Esme du Plessis whose term of office (as the Chairperson) has come to an end.

Ms Mtoba was elected as Chairperson at a recent council meeting. In the same Council meeting, Dr Piet Botha, current chairperson of the Alumni Board of the University of Pretoria, was elected Deputy Chairperson of the Council of the University of Pretoria. The previous Deputy Chairperson of the Council was Ms Mtoba herself.

The 30-member Council of the University of Pretoria is responsible for governance, policy making and monitoring. The Council generally focuses on the three core activities of the University, namely teaching, research and community engagement. 18 of the Council members are external people who are not employed by the University and 12 are internal people (staff and students of the University).
Ms Mtoba is a Chartered Accountant and holds a Higher Diploma in Banking Law (University of Johannesburg); B Compt (Hons) (University of South Africa); BA (Econ) (Hons) (University of South Africa); BA (Econ) (University of Botswana and Swaziland).

Her professional career started in Umtata at W.L. Nkuhlu & Co in association with Hoek & Wiehelm. She is also the current chairperson of Deloitte South Africa. Ms Mtoba joined the firm in 1988 and rose up the ranks to become the first black female partner and subsequently Chairman at Deloitte Southern Africa.

Dr Botha obtained a doctoral degree in Commerce (Accounting) from the University of Pretoria in 1978. He worked for institutions such as Van Zyl, Scheepers and Bruwer; Federale Volksbeleggins Ltd; University of Pretoria; Coopers Theron du Toit; the Rand Merchant Bank; Subtropico Ltd; Vleissentraal (Pty) Ltd; and is currently a businessman.

Dr Botha has also served as Chaiperson on the boards of several organisations such as Constantia Ondernemings Ltd, Nationalink, Natsure Holdings Ltd, Pretoria Eye Institute, Estate Agents Board.

The University of Pretoria would like to congratulate both Ms Mtoba and Dr Piet Botha in their appointment as the Council Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson respectively.

They will further the process of making the University of Pretoria the premier university in South Africa that acknowledges its prominent role in Africa and is also a symbol of national aspiration and hope, reconciliation and pride.

The University would also like to thank the previous chairperson, Prof Esme du Plessis, for leading the University in its drive to be a leader in higher education that is recognized internationally for academic excellence.

Under her stewardship, the University embarked on a new strategy, called the “Innovation Generation: Creating the Future, 2007–2011”. Under this Plan, the University has the following thrusts: academic excellence, a people-centered university, excellence in the University's core functions, excellence in the University's support services, local impact, transformation, Interfaces, and sustainability.

/sitefiles/Image/Futhi Mtoba .JPG

Ms Futhi Mtoba, new Chairperson of the Council of the University  of Pretoria

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences