International behavioural ecologist to present Centenary lecture at University

Posted on July 09, 2008

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} Internationally renowned for his research on behavioural ecology and sociobiology, Prof Gadagkar will speak on interrogating an insect society.

The lecture forms part of the Centenary lecture series and takes place at 11:00 in the University’s Senate Hall on the Hatfield campus.

Prof Gadagkar has published extensively on animal behaviour, ecology and evolution and is fascinated by the origin and evolution of cooperation in animals, especially social insects, such as ants, bees and wasps.

He obtained the degrees BSc (Hons) and MSc in Zoology from Bangalore University and a PhD in Molecular Biology from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Prof Gadagkar is Professor and JC Bose National Fellow at the Centre for Ecological Sciences, the Indian Institute of Science and Chairman of the Centre for Contemporary Studies at the Institute. He is also Honorary Professor at the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research and Non-Resident Permanent Fellow of the Wissenschaftskolleg (Institute for Advanced Study) in Berlin.

He is an elected fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, the Indian National Science Academy, the National Academy of Sciences, India, the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World and Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences, USA.

Prof Gadagkar serves, or has served, on the editorial boards of several national and international scientific journals, including the board of reviewing editors of Science. He also serves on the Scientific Advisory Committee to the cabinet for the Government of India.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences