Election of University of Pretoria's new student parliament finalised

Posted on September 27, 2010

Just over 6 000 students cast their votes.

In the constituency for societies (which includes political parties) Afriforum Youth won 11 seats. The South African Student Congress (Sasco) had enough votes for 10 seats. The DA Student Organisation (Daso) as well as the Freedom Front Plus (FF+) both won five seats. The Congress of the People (Cope), Doxa Deo, the Pan African Student Movement (Pasma) as well as the University of Pretoria’s International Student Organisation (UPI) each drew sufficient votes for two seats. Societies fill 39 of the 88 seats in the new Student Parliament.

At the same time, voters elected individual representatives from the nine faculties. These candidates fill another 38 seats in the Parliament.

The 11 remaining seats are filled by candidates from the residences who have already been elected.

UP’s new Student Representative Council (SRC) will be elected from the ranks of the Student Parliament on 4 October 2010.

Dean of Students, Prof McGlory Speckman, today said the University was pleased that the elections were concluded successfully.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences