Prof Majozi wins NSTF-BHP Billiton Award

Posted on May 31, 2011

Outstanding contributions to science, engineering, technology and innovation were acknowledged when the Minister of Science and Technology, Ms Naledi Pandor, presented the 12 awards at Emperors Palace, Kempton Park. This event has been taking place annually for the past 13 years and recognises practising scientists, engineers, technologists and innovators across the system of innovation.

Four academics from the University of Pretoria were nominated, namely Prof Majozi, Prof Nigel Bennet from the Department of Zoology and Entomology (Natural and Agricultural Sciences), Prof Kobus Eloff, Head of the Phytomedicine Programme (Veterinary Science) and Prof Gerald Swan, Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Science. The Faculty of Veterinary Science was listed among the finalists in the category ‘Research leading to Innovation’.

Chemical Engineering Professor wins NSTF Award - click here for more

Prof Brenda Wingfield, NSTF chairperson and Deputy Dean in the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, said at the gala dinner that the awards not only celebrated the achievements of the country’s scientists, but also sought to develop role models for aspiring young scientists.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences