Three UP professors scoop top science awards

Posted on August 23, 2011

The winners were announced at the Women in Science Awards, hosted by the Ministry of Science and Technology, held at the Union Buildings on Friday 19 August. The awards honoured the university’s professors for their contribution to advancing science and building the knowledge base in their disciplines.

Prof Jolanda Roux won the top Distinguished Young Women in Science Award for Life, Natural and Engineering Sciences. She was honoured for her research on the health of tress which focuses strongly on fungi and bacteria resulting in disease and death of trees. Most of the research has been focused on the diseases of the commercial plantation forestry species in South Africa and other African countries, namely Acacia mearnsii, Eucalyptus spp. and Pinus spp.

Prof Roux was recently awarded the Queen’s Award by the Commonwealth Forestry Association for her contribution to Forestry.

Another achiever is Prof Namrita Lall, who won the Indigenous Knowledge Systems Award in the category of Distinguished Young Women in Science. Her contribution is for a scientific validation of the use of South African plants for medicines and cosmetics. She has also initiated research projects on cosmeceuticals, tuberculosis, diabetes and cancer using medicinal plants.

Prof Fhumulani Mulaudzi was named the runner-up to Prof Lall and was acknowledged for her contribution to the advancement of Indigenous Knowledge Systems in the health care. Her research interests lies in human rights and ethics, HIV/ AIDS, indigenous knowledge system and reproductive health. She is a member of the research committee of the Africa Honour Society of Nursing.

Prof Namrita Lall receives an award from the Minister of Science and Technology,Ms Naledi Pandor.

Prof Jolanda Roux receives an award from the Minister of Science and Technology, Ms Naledi Pandor

Minister of Science and Technology Naledi Pandor (centre) is flanked by Prof Namrita Lall and her runner-up Prof Fhumulani Mulaudzi (left).

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences