ASSAf recognises academics from the University of Pretoria

Posted on November 01, 2012

Christof Heyns is a professor of Human Rights Law and Co-director of the Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa at the University of Pretoria. He is also the United Nations Special Rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary executions.

Prof Robert Millar is currently a director of the Mammal Research Institute at the University of Pretoria and Director of the UCT/MRC Receptor Biology Group.

Prof Kobus Eloff

Prof Kobus Eloff, who heads the Phytomedicine Programme in the Faculty of Veterinary Science at the University of Pretoria, was awarded the ASSAf’s 2012 Science for Society Gold Medal for excellence in the application of outstanding scientific thinking in the service of society.

The Chief Executive Officer of ASSAf, Prof Roseanne Diab, welcomed and congratulated the newly appointed members from the University of Pretoria and said: “Membership of the academy is a great honour and the inclusion of these new members bears testimony to their scholarship and contributions to scientific endeavours in our country. We look forward to their contribution to the growth and development of the Academy.”

Prof Diab also congratulated Prof Eloff on being chosen as the recipient of the gold medal, which is a very prominent expression of the Academy’s desire to promote scholarly excellence and related service to society.


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences