TuksFM showcases the best in SA campus radio at 2013 MTN Radio Awards

Posted on April 17, 2013

Entries in the MTN Radio Awards are reviewed by a panel of industry experts who score each entry individually. These scores are then centrally collated in order to determine the various winners.

In 2012, Tuks FM scooped up five awards and two merit awards in eight categories. This year the station was nominated in 17 categories, with the closest competitors on 15 nominations. Tuks FM took home seven awards and collectively won more awards than any Campus, Community, PBS or Commercial station.

Tuks FM walked off with the following awards:

Best Breakfast Show - Campus
The Bang-Bang Breakfast

Best Breakfast Presenter - Campus
Alex Caige

Best Afternoon Drive Presenter - Campus
Nolz van der Merwe

Best Night Time Show - Campus
The Solid State

Best Music Show - Campus
Top 30 with James Nevim

Best News Bulletin Reader - Campus
Sydney King

Campus Station of the Year 2013 (Also won in 2012)

The Tuks FM nominations for the 2013 MTN Radio Awards were:
Best Breakfast Show - Campus: The Bang-Bang Breakfast
Best Breakfast Presenter - Campus: Alex Caige
Community Project - Campus: Madiba Day
Content Producer - Campus: Wayne van Jaarsveld (The Man Cave)
Best Daytime Show - Campus: Phindi Mdluli (The Out to Lunch)
Best Daytime Show - Campus: Top of The Morning (Werner Bothma)
Best Music Show - Campus: Retro Riffs (Wayne van Jaarsveld)
Best Music Show - Campus: Top 30 (James Nevim)
Best Afternoon Drive Presenter - Campus: Nolz van der Merwe
Best Afternoon Drive Show - Campus: The Drive Show
Best News Bulletin Reader - Campus: Megan van der Westhuizen
Best News Bulletin Reader - Campus: Nadia Romanos
Best News Bulletin Reader - Campus: Sydney King
Best Night Time Show - Campus: Breakfast in Japan (Michele MacPherson)
Best Night Time Show- Campus: The Solid State
Best on-air packaging - Campus
Best Weekend Show - Campus: The Retro Riffs

Tuks FM has become the breeding ground for radio station personnel and other spectrums of the radio industry. The station provides an excellent training ground for the radio industry and it’s no surprise that commercial radio stations pay this campus station a lot of attention. Anele Mdoda announced, before presenting the Campus Station of the Year award, "They breed the best, to be the best!”

Megan van der Westhuizen and Nadia Romanos who were both nominated for Best Campus News Bulletin Reader should also be acknowledged. Also, Phindi Mdluli, Michelle MacPherson and Werner Bothma were nominated for Tuks FM’s Out to Lunch, Tuks FM’s Breakfast in Japan and Tuks FM’s Top of the Morning, respectively.

Loutjie van der Merwe, Station Manager expressed his delight: “We are extremely proud of the staff that received nominations, but a massive congratulations and thank you needs to go to all the behind-the-scenes staff who contribute to such a great product being offered on-air. Endless, thankless hours of work gets done with passion and the love for broadcasting and radio, and these are the real hero’s we salute.”

Tuks FM is a station that shows professionalism, commitment and above all passion for the medium of radio.

For further information about the judges’ comments, photographs of the winners and other interesting radio articles, please visit www.mtnradioawards.com and read the latest issue of On Air magazine.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences