UP-Tuks 1 are the 2013 Varsity Football Champions!!

Posted on September 17, 2013

UP-Tuks 1 played their Varsity Football Champions Tuks scored two (2) goals in the first half, with brace hero Mbongeni Masilela completing the rout in the second half. NMMU, the only unbeaten side in the tournament after eight games, came into the final oozing with confidence having eliminated favourites TUT in the semi-finals.

Despite dominating possession in the opening minutes of the match, UP-Tuks 1 almost conceded. Kenneth Matlala’s clearance header from a Lukhanyo Ramseni free kick missed the far post by just inches in the 11th minute.

Shortly after, Nicholas Killas had NMMU’s goalkeeper Lindsay Jennings producing a fine save from a corner kick.

Tuks broke the deadlock in the 20th minute. Lawrence Ntshwane capitalised on Mosa Sesele’s corner when he rose the highest in the box to net in a brilliant header past the NMMU keeper.

Six minutes later, NMMU came close to equalising when Claudius Ray Sagandira played a pass to Rasmeni, but his snap shot from the 18-yard box went wide.

Tuks added one more to their tally on the stroke of half time. Claudio Barreiro netted in after NMMU failed to clear a goalmouth scramble.

Shortly after the break, Tuks capitalised on a counter attacks when they scored in the 71st minute. Dean Winkilson delivered a decent cross in the box as Jarryd Van Den Berg found unmarked Mbongeni Masilela who easily netted home, extending the score line to 3-0.

NMMU almost pulled one back four minutes later as Kieran Koert volleyed from the edge of the box, but the Tuks keeper Tristyn Coetsee did very well to parry the ball away for a corner.

The Madibaz scored their only goal in the 78th minute. Nicholas Killas unsuccessfully attempted to clear the ball away in the goalmouth, but it found the NMMU striker Kieran Peterson who put the ball in the back of an unguarded post.

As NMMU started to attack in search of a second one, the Tuks defence threw their bodies on the line.

Masilela had NMMU defence beaten at stoppage time to launch a shot from the 18-yard box. He scored his brace to complete the 4-1 rout with Tuks becoming the first team to be crowned the inaugural Varsity Football Tournament Champions

The CHAMPS are here!!! TUKS of NIKS!

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences