TuksSport proud of its 34 Olympians

Posted on June 12, 2012

The SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) have finalised the 186 strong team for the games, of this 186, 32 are TuksSport respresentatives. Kurt Couto and Corli van der Walt will be representing Mozambique at the games, bringing the TukSport representation at the games up to 34.

“We are over the moon with the representation TuksSport will have in London, especially because it is not limited to one or two sporting codes. In fact, we’ll have representation in nine different sporting codes – a true testimony to how well our programme of excellence works across the spectrum of team and individual sports,” said Kobus van der Walt, Director of TuksSport.

The TuksSport Olympians are:

Karin Prinsloo, Roland Schoeman, Suzaan van Biljon, Darren Murray and Igor Omeltchenko (coach)

Johan Steyn (manager/coach)

Track and field: Caster Semenya, Willie de Beer, Lehann Fourie, Khotso Mokoena, Oscar Pistorius and LJ van Zyl. Kurt Couto (Mozambique)
50 km race walk: Marc Mundell
Hennie Kotze (coach)

Bridgitte Hartley

Women: Dirkie Chamberlain and Nicolene Terblanche
Men: Rhett Halkett, Justin Reid-Ross and Jonathan Robinson

Jacques van Zyl and Nikola Filipov (manager/coach)

Men’s lightweight coxless four: Matthew Brittain, Lawrence Ndlovu, John Smith and James Thompson
Women’s pair: Lee-Ann Persse and Roger Barrow (manager/coach)

Alistair Davis

Lindsey Parry (manager/coach)

Bafana Sihlali (Chief physiotherapist)
Phathokuhle Cele (Medical doctor)
Corli van der Walt (Mozambique: physiotherapist)


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences