Shaun to fullback for match agianst Shimlas

Posted on March 04, 2010

Davids re-deployment is one of eight changes to the FNB Tuks starting line-up which was shell shocked by FNB Maties in Stellenbosch in round five of the competition. Stanley Twiname will take over the No 10 jersey in his first start of the season.

The FNB Tuks skipper replaces kicking ace Justin van Staden who is currently training with the SA u.20 squad in Saldana Bay. Van Staden will be on the bench, but FNB Tuks head coach, Freddie Grobler said his prolific point machine will only be used if need be.

“Justin will be tired as he has played for us on Monday, for the SA u.20 side on Wednesday (in the first of two warm up matches) and will do so again on Saturday. The last thing we would want to do is to overplay him. Gertjie (Smith) will take over the kicking duties.”

Another notable change is at scrum half where the Blue Bulls contracted Ettiene Greeff will be the fourth player this season to be entrusted with one of the key positions in the team. Before him Ignick Windvogel, Wesleigh Marais and Zylon McGaffen all had a throw at the dice, but none of them really made the grade.

The only other change in the backline is at left wing where injured Aaron Denenga is replaced by Tom Seabela.

Up front there are also four changes. Marius Weber makes his comeback at No 8 with Coenie Pieterse moving to the side of the scrum to replace injured Louwrens Lombaardt.

Pieterse’s match fitness is however still in doubt as he was lightly concussed when he and team mate Gerhard van der Merwe hit heads in the match against FNB Maties. Pieterse will be monitored and a final call made on Saturday after the captain’s run.

In the front row the changes are at loose head prop, where Corné Fourie will have his first start of the season and at hooker, where Robbie Coetzee replaces Chris Crous.

The FNB Tuks team: 15 Shaun Davids (c), 14 Dirk Dippenaar, 13 Ernie Kruger, 12 Gertjie Smith, 11 Tom Seabela, 10 Stanley Twiname, 9 Ettiene Greeff, 8, Marius Weber, 7 Tendaiyi Chikukwa, 6 Coenie Pieters, 5 Francois van Wyk, 4 Tiaan Nel, 3 Peet Vorster, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Corné Fourie. Replacements: 16 Chris Crous, 17 Musa Tukela, 18 Andries Ferreira, 19 Oswin Mentoor, 20 Wesleigh Marais, 21 Terrence Jacobs, 22 Justin van Staden, 23 Hein Viljoen.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences