It's Erin as Player of the Year

Posted on November 03, 2009

Head coach Elize Kotze described 2009 as one of the most exciting netball seasons of her career.

“The year will be remembered as a season of controversy but also huge successes and victory. Tuks 1 lost only two games the whole year and proved to be one of the best teams in SA club netball,” she added.

Elize concluded with: “I am proud and honored to be your coach. As I always say: ‘Style and talent are permanent, performance is temporary.’ “

Jenny van Dyk, TuksNetball Manager agreed with Elize that “we have a great club, a wonderful environment and passionate people who will do everything in their ability to make sure TuksNetball reaches its full potential.”

Jenny said the focus in 2010 is will be on a contagious attitude.

“Is your attitude worth catching? Are you the gold medalist, a finalist or just a turn up? Are you an innovator, creator and risk taker, a leader who has a vision of what’s possible and makes it happen, or are you a copycat who don’t care and do the same thing over and over?

“The future belongs to whoever gets there first and wants it most. People who excel in life are different. They think and act differently, they change the world. Are you driving change or trying to stop it? “

“Dream more, fight for what you believe in and never give up. Do it your way,” concluded Jenny.

• The winners of the awards were:

Most Promising Player:

Tuks Open: Aphiwe Msizi

Tuks Divas: Zinhle Mbense

Tuks u/19B: Karien Pelser

Tuks u/19A: Yolandi du Preez

Tuks u/21B: Maryke van Aswegen

Tuks u/21A: Yoanne Penning

Tuks 1: Charisa Beukes

Best Player:

Tuks Open: Nono Chamane

Tuks Divas: Misha Joyce & Jenny Townsend

Tuks u/19B: Michelle Oliver

Tuks u/19A: Nomazizi Mzayidume

Tuks u/21B: Menante Botha

Tuks u/21A: Carmen van der Merwe

Best Team Player: Amanda Mynhardt

Best Shooter: Annemarie Frost & Yolandi Badenhorst

Best Defender: Chantelle du Plessis

Best Center Court Player: Rozanne Naidoo

Student Administrator of the Year: Stacey Collins

TuksNetball Junior Player of the Year: Nomazizi Mzayidume

TuksNetball Player of the Year: Erin Burger

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences