TuksHockey -Four in SA Mens Squad

Posted on October 25, 2011

South African Hockey Association president Dave Carr released the names of 24 players Friday who will take part in a final training camp in Johannesburg starting on November 18 before selection convenor Mike Bechet and his panel make a final decision on which 18 players will represent the green and gold at the Champions Challenge men’s tournament, which takes place at Randburg Hockey Stadium from November 26 to December 4.

The 24-player squad comprises seven players from KZN Coastal, six from Southern Gauteng, five from Western Province, four from Northerns Blues and one each from Eastern Province and Amatole (Border).

The Champions Challenge features the eight countries ranked from ninth to 16th in the world and is a vital tournament for head coach Gregg Clark’s side as the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) has stipulated that the African continent's champions must reach the final in order to be considered good enough to join Team South Africa at the London 2012 Olympic Games.


Brendon Botes (Eastern Province), Jacques le Roux, Andrew Cronje, Austin Smith (capt), Ian Haley, Lloyd Norris-Jones (all Western Province, Rassie Pieterse, Lance Louw, Ricky West, Clinton Panther, Miguel da Graca, Thornton McDade (all Southern Gauteng), Gowan Jones, Lloyd Madsen, Gareth Carr, Wade Paton, Taine Paton, Tim Drummond, Marvin Harper (all KZN Coastal), Justin Reid-Ross, Rhett Halkett, Jonty Robinson, Nic Gonsalves (all TuksHockey & Northerns Blues), Julian Hykes (Amatole-Border

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences