Brewing Intervarsity: UP claims second victory in three years

Posted on August 23, 2010

Beer is brewed in three categories: Lager, Ale and Speciality . Prizes are awarded for the best in each category, the best label design and the best beer overall.  It is the overall prize that is the most sought after, as it comes with the Ben Lamaletie - IOB Best Beer Trophy.

The duty of hosting the competition goes to the winner of the previous year.  Tuks won the first competition in 2008 with a clean sweep, hosting the 2009 competition that was taken by the highly motivated Stellenbosch team.  This year the Tuks team claimed their revenge, winning two of the three categories (Ale and Speciality) as well as the coveted trophy.  The winning beer was a Russian Imperial Stout.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences