The winning tradition continues

Posted on October 25, 2013

Norton Rose is a leading commercial law firm who, together with co-sponsor the South African Institute of Professional Accountants (SAIPA), has established the national Tax Thesis Competition. This competition is now in its sixth year. The competition’s objectives are to promote research in the subject of taxation, grow the database of tax knowledge, contribute to the debate and development of tax policy and highlight the role of tax in the economy in South Africa.

Students of the Department of Taxation have done exceptionally well in this competition in the past. Sharon joins previous winners of the doctoral category from the University of Pretoria, namely Prof Theuns Steyn (2012), Elzette Muller (2011) and Prof Madeleine Stiglingh (2010), in promoting the University as a leader in tax research in the country. UP Students also won the master’s category in 2009 and were placed second in the same category in 2010 and 2011.

The Department of Taxation is a fairly young department, having celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2012. The recent research success of the Department shows taxation is fast maturing into a credible academic discipline in South Africa, with its focus stretching beyond the conventional emphasis on professional education.

Sharon and the Department will receive the prestigious award at a gala function towards the end of the year.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences