Prof Brenda Wingfield elected to ASSAf Council

Posted on October 18, 2012

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) is an independent, statutory body of eminent South African scholars and scientists. ASSAf is the official national Academy of Science of South Africa and represents the country in the international community of science academies.

Prof Wingfield has published more than 240 peer-reviewed articles. She is one of the Research Leaders of the Department of Science and Technology (DST)/NRF Centre of Excellence in Tree Health Biotechnology, Chairperson of the National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF) and previous Vice-Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of PlantBio, one of the national biotechnology innovation centres.

She was the winner of the Department of Water Affairs and Forestry’s Women in Water, Sanitation, and Forestry Research Award in 2007, the DST’s Distinguished Women in Science Award in 2008 and the African Union’s Women in Science Regional (Southern) Award in 2009. Prior to this award, she was recognised four times as an Exceptional Academic Achiever. She has a B rating from the NRF. She has also been awarded the Chancellor’s Award for Research for 2012.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences