Prof Sunil Maharaj 

Prof Maharaj's portfolio includes:

  • Research, Postgraduate Studies and Innovation Support 
  • Library Services
  • Future Africa Institute and Campus
  • Innovation Africa@UP
  • Institutional Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation 
  • Strategic Planning and Allocation of Resources Committee (SPARC)

Contact details

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2229
Fax: +27(0)12 420 3696
Email: [email protected]

Sunil (BT) Maharaj is a Professor in the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering. He has a combined experience of more than 33 years in industry as a microwave and RF design engineer, academia and consulting. He holds a BSc Engineering (Electronic), MSc Engineering (Electronic), MSc Operational Telecommunications and a PhD Engineering. He is also a professional engineer registered with the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA), a Fellow of the South African Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers and Senior Member of IEEE. In 2018 he was the founding Chair of the IEEE SA Section Vehicular Technology Society (VTS) Chapter. He has been involved in organizing many conferences and technical events such as IEEE Africon, IEEE ICC 2010 and as General Conference Chair for IEEE VTS 2019 Wireless Africa Conference and the 2020 and 2022 World Engineering Education Federation and Engineering Deans Council Conference. He has been the first African Dean to be elected as the Global Engineering Dean Council Chair and assumed the Chair in November 2021. Dr Maharaj since 2008 held the position of Sentech Chair in Broadband Wireless Multimedia Communications and has more than 170 international peer reviewed conference and journal articles, 2 international patents and winner of 10 national and international awards. His research interests are in broadband wireless communications with a focus on 5G cognitive radio sensor networks resource allocation, OFDM-MIMO systems, wireless channel modelling and edge computing communications systems. Dr Maharaj was in 2021/2022 the President of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers (SAIEE) and since 2017 Chair of TuksNovation NPC Board which is a hi-tech business incubator and accelerator.

He was previously the Head of Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering and between 2014 and 2022 served as Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT) until his appointment as Vice-Principal: Research, Innovation and Postgraduate Education on 1 August 2022.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences