UP’s School of Engineering ranked number one in South Africa and Africa

Posted on November 09, 2020

The University of Pretoria’s (UP) School of Engineering in the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT) has been ranked first in South Africa and Africa, according to the 2020 US News and World Report Rankings on the Best Global Universities for Engineering.
“The EBIT Faculty is proud of its recent achievement and this is largely due to the tremendous effort of the leadership in the various departments, our committed lecturers and dedicated students, through the wonderful support of our alumni, government and industry partners,” said Faculty Dean Prof Sunil Maharaj.
Starting from humble beginnings in 1956 with only 64 students, today EBIT has around 8 000 enrolled undergraduate students. Over the years, the School of Engineering has experienced remarkable growth and development, producing around 28% of graduate engineers in the country in 2019. In 1971 it became the largest school of engineering in the country. It is one of four schools in the Faculty of EBIT and comprises the departments of Chemical; Civil; Electrical, Electronic and Computer; Materials Science and Metallurgical; Mining; Mechanical and Aeronautical; and Industrial and Systems Engineering.
Being rated the number one school of engineering in South Africa is a remarkable achievement and is celebrated with great pride, although it does not come as a surprise as the school was listed among the top 1% of engineering schools worldwide in the Web of Science in 2016. 
UP is launching the Engineering 4.0 facility at the end of November. It is a collaborative project between UP, the South African National Roads Agency SOC Ltd, the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research as well as York Timbers. This new research, training and innovation facility will catalyse inter- and transdisciplinary research, co-creating knowledge that enables innovation and infrastructure in smart mobility, sustainable cities and communities. 
- Author Department of Institutional Advancement

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences