Research and teaching excellence celebrated at EMS Awards

Posted on June 28, 2017


The Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences celebrated the excellent research and teaching and learning achievements of academic staff members at the prestigious annual EMS Awards Function, which was held on 21 June 2017.

Announcing the research awards was Prof Jenny Hoobler, Deputy Dean of Research and Postgraduate Studies, who explained the significance of the awards: 'The purpose of these awards is to recognise annual contributions to the research vision of the Faculty, which is to be an internationally recognised and locally relevant centre of research excellence in the economic, management and financial sciences.' The winners were:

Research Awards
First Article Publication
Tanya Hill (Department of Taxation)
Elmarie Louw (Department of Financial Management)
Best Junior Researcher in a Discipline
Management Sciences (co-winners)
Dr Nasima Carrim (Department of Human Resource Management)
Dr Tania Maree (Department of Marketing Management)
Financial Sciences (co-winners)
Cecile Janse van Rensburg (Department of Accounting)
Astrid Schmulian (Department of Accounting)
Cobus Janse van Rensburg (Department of Auditing)
Economics Sciences
Dr Yoseph Getachew (Department of Economics)
Best Senior Researcher in a Discipline
Management Sciences (co-winners)
Prof Chantal Olckers (Department of Human Resource Management)
Prof David Fourie (School of Public Management and Administration)
Financial Sciences
Prof John Hall (Department of Financial Management)
Economic Sciences
Prof Roula Inglesi-Lotz (Department of Economics)
Most Improved Research Performance by a Department
Department of Accounting
Overall Researcher of the Year
Prof Rangan Gupta (Department of Economics)
Stella Nkomo Award for Best Doctoral Thesis
Dr Nicky Nicholls (Department of Economics)
Prof Johan Oberholster, Deputy Dean of Teaching and Learning, explained: 'The awards in the teaching and learning category give recognition to lecturers who introduced innovations in their classrooms, maintained high module pass rates and were assessed to be good teachers based on an objective evaluation of their teaching and classroom practice.' The winners were:
Teaching and Learning Awards
Roelien Kunz (Department of Auditing):
She introduced an innovative teaching approach for ODT 700, involving active engagement between the lecturer and students and amongst students, to promote deep learning and enrich the students’ learning experience.
Madelyn Cloete and Corlia Joynt (Department of Accounting):
They changed the experience of first-year students (FRK 111, 121 and 122) and facilitated change in the Department of Accounting towards an integrated hybrid teaching approach. Electronic mark sheets were used for FRK 111. For FRK 121/122, a comprehensive assignment was used, which simulated business transactions through a four-phase assignment. Virtual lectures and an online examination (the first of its kind in the Department) were successfully completed during the disruptions of 2016.
Marina Kirstein and Bernice Beukes (Department of Auditing):
The ODT 300 team incorporates technology into their curriculum and makes use of the flipped classroom approach. They also incorporate other forms of technology to facilitate teaching interventions, such as e-tutorials, an online simulation (AuditSim) and video recordings. With the re-engineering of the pedagogy and the module teaching model to incorporate blended learning (also referred to as technologically enhanced learning), the flipped classroom model was introduced.
Prof Stephen Coetzee, Cecile Janse van Rensburg and Astrid Schmulian (Department of Accounting):
They introduced webinars for the FRK 201 module. Given that their students increasingly function in cyberspace, they developed a toolbox of teaching interventions, including web conferences.
Prof ElsabéLoots, Dean of the Faculty, highlighted how the commitment of staff in the Faculty was one of the key factors that ensured the successful completion of the 2016 academic year, despite the challenges encountered. She concluded the event with these words of encouragement: 'I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all our winners who received recognition for their hard work and perseverance. We hope this will serve as an inspiration to have many new winners at the 2018 Awards Function.'
- Author Nonkululeko Kubeka Moyo

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences