Faculty gets a new leader for teaching and learning

Posted on October 01, 2014

Prof Johan Oberholster, currently the CA Programme Manager, has been appointed as the new Deputy Dean: Teaching and Learning in the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences, with effect from 1 October 2014 to 31 December 2016. Prof Oberholster will continue in his position as CA Programme Manager during this period.

Prof Oberholster obtained his BCompt degree from the University of the Orange Free State in 1983 and his BCompt honours degree and CTA certificate from Unisa in 1985. He was ranked as part of the Top 20 CTA students at Unisa. After completing the SAICA exams and his traineeship at KPMG, he registered as a CA(SA). He obtained a MCom degree in Financial Management from the Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), currently the University of Johannesburg (UJ) in 1995 and completed his doctorate at the end of 2013 at the University of Pretoria . He consequently received honorary academic colours from UP.

Prof Oberholster joined UP in May 1990 as a lecturer in Accounting at the former School of Accountancy (SOA). He was promoted to associate professor in 1996. In 1998 he received the award as the best honours and CTA lecturer. In 2000 he became the head of the Accounting Division of the SOA, a position which he held until the formation of the current four departments of financial sciences. By mid-2006 he was appointed as Acting Head of the Department of Accounting, a position that he held until the end of 2007. In 2009, Prof Oberholster became the Head of the Department of Accounting, which included the management of the CA Programme. At the end of 2012, the two positions were separated and he accepted the position as CA Programme Manager at UP in January 2013, a position which he still holds today.

During his time as a lecturer Prof Oberholster served on several committees of SAICA and published more than 15 research and popular articles. He was also a co-writer of seven accounting text books during this time and served as the editor of two of these for a number of years.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences