Seventeen doctorates for Faculty of Theology

Posted on April 16, 2011

The Faculty of Theology at the University of Pretoria has celebrated the achievements of their students at the Autumn Graduation Ceremony on Friday, 8 April 2011. For photos click here

During the ceremony held in the Rembrandt Hall at the Sport Centre, the Faculty awarded 9 University Diplomas in Theology; 8 Bachelor of Arts degrees; 39 Bachelor of Theology degrees; 25 Bachelor of Arts Honours in Theology degrees; 12 Master of Divinity degrees; 23 Master of Philosophy in Applied Theology degrees and 38 Master of Arts in Theology degrees. 

The Award of the Vice Chancellor and Principal was made to Frans Jacobus Lots. The award consists of a silver medal as well as a cash prize and certificate and is awarded to candidates for outstanding undergraduate academic achievement during all the undergraduate years of study for any first bachelor’s degree in a Faculty of Theology.

One of the highlights was the sixteen students who were awarded the degree Doctor of Philosophy. They were: Dr Antonie Binneman; Dr Semape Jacob Manyaka; Dr Juanita Loubser; Dr Wilhelmus Gottlieb Francois Neethling; Dr Gerhardus Oberholzer; Dr Amanda Richter; Dr Hee-Kyung Youn and Dr Kennedy Chola Mulenga, who all worked under supervision of Prof Julian Müller, of the Department of Practical Theology, who is also the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Theology.

Dr Kálmán Diederik Papp did his degree under the supervision of Prof Johan Buitendag of the Department of Dogmatics and Christian Ethics and with Dr JP Labuschagne as co-supervisor. Prof Buitendag is the Dean of the Faculty of Theology.

Dr Paul Byeong Lee and Dr Guillaume Hermanus Smit worked under the supervision of Prof Gert Steyn, Head of the Department of New Testament Studies; Dr Sarel Johannes Lodewikus Marais under the supervion of Prof Conrad Wethmar; Dr Jeong-Wook Shin under the supervision of Prof Pieter Venter, Head of the Department of Old Testament Studies; Dr Edward Lee Smither and Dr Mnyalaza Tobias Masuku under the supervision of Prof Nelus Niemandt, Head of the Departmenf of Science and Religion and Missiology; Dr Christiaan Frederik Van Zyl under the supervsion of Prof Etienne de Villiers and Dr Johan Stephanus Botha did his degree under the supervision of Prof Cas Vos and co-supervision of Prof Hennie Pieterse.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences