TuksLaw student recipient of prestigious Rhodes Scholarship

Posted on December 07, 2012

The Rhodes Scholarships are postgraduate awards that support students with outstanding all-round records at the University of Oxford and provide transformative opportunities for exceptional individuals.  

Established in 1903 under the will of Cecil Rhodes, the Rhodes Scholarship Programme is the oldest and perhaps the most prestigious international graduate scholarship programme in the world. A class of 83 scholars is selected each year from Australia, Bermuda, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Jamaica and Commonwealth Caribbean, Kenya, New Zealand, Pakistan, Southern Africa (including South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland), the United States, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Rhodes' vision in founding the Scholarship was to develop outstanding leaders who would be motivated to fight 'the world's fight', and 'esteem the performance of public duties as their highest aim', and to promote international understanding and peace.

His will outlines four criteria to be applied in the selection of scholars:
·       literary and scholastic attainments; ·       the energy to use their talents to the full; ·       truth, courage, devotion to duty, sympathy for and protection of the weak, kindliness, unselfishness and fellowship; and ·       moral force of character and the instincts necessary to lead and to take an interest in their fellow beings.   In short, Rhodes Scholarship selection committees seek young women and men of outstanding intellect, character, leadership, and commitment to service.  The Rhodes Scholarships support students who demonstrate a strong propensity to emerge as 'leaders for the world’s future'.   In 2011, Khomotso was awarded the Abe Bailey Travel Bursary to the United Kingdom and in 2013 he will work as a clerk at the Constitutional Court of South Africa, for Justice Johann van der Westhuizen, until his departure for Oxford.   Asked how he felt about this honour which has been bestowed upon him, a delighted Khomotso said that ‘he was truly humbled, considering that previous recipients include individuals who are luminaries in their respective fields, such as Judge Rex Welsh (1941), Lord Justice Leonard Hoffmann (1954), Justice Edwin Cameron (1978) and the Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Witwatersrand, Prof Loyiso Nongxa (1978)’.  

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences