INVITATION: Data Protection Day 2021 in Africa

  • DATE

    28 January

  • TIME

    13:00 - 14:30

  • VENUE

    Online (Bluejeans)

The Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria, in collaboration with the Council of Europe, cordially invite you to an online event to commemorate Data Protection Day 2021.

On 28 January 2021, we are celebrating the 40th Anniversary of the Data Protection Convention 108 with African privacy and data protection stakeholders.

African regulators and civil society representatives will inform the participants on latest developments at national, regional and international level and will touch upon the advantages of Convention 108 for African countries. The evolution of Convention 108 into the ‘modernised’ Convention 108+ adds a new dimension to international data flows and cooperation between data protection authorities, and will also be addressed.

Download invitation

Data Protection Day 2021 in Africa

Thursday 28 January 2021
Online (Bluejeans)
11:00 GMT / 12:00 WAT / 13:00 SAST / 14:00 EAT 

Click here to join

No registration required / just follow this link to connect on Bluejeans


Format

Speakers will share about the jurisdictional updates and discuss the following questions:

  • What advantages (or disadvantages) would involvement in the Convention bring?
  • What does the Convention mean in a post Schrems II era for relationships between the EU (and the GDPR) and African countries?
  • How could Convention 108 contribute to relationships between African countries and how does it relate to other regional frameworks on data protection?

Programme

Opening remarks

  • Sophie Kwasny 
    Head, Data Protection Unit, Council of Europe
  • Frans Viljoen
    Professor of International Human Rights Law and Director, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria

Moderators

  • Hlengiwe Dube
    Manager, Expression Information and Digital Rights Unit, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria
  • Pat Walshe
    Executive Director, Privacy Matters

Speakers

  • Patricia Adusei Poku
    Ghana, Executive Director of the Data Protection Commission
  • Immaculate Kassait
    Kenya, Data Protection Commissioner
  • Drudeisha Madhub
    Mauritius, Privacy Commissioner
  • Omar Seghrouchni
    Morocco, Data Protection and Access to Information Commissioner Secretary General, African Network of Data Protection Authorities
  • Sizwe Snail 
    South Africa, Commissioner of the Information Regulator

Q&A Session

  • To submit questions in advance, please contact us at data.protection[at]coe.int.
  • Questions will be accepted live during the event via the online platform Q&A feature.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2021. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences